Dauphin Island, Alabama

After 2 years living, working & island hopping in Thailand, American beaches can’t really compare. This was my mind set pulling into the sand covered parking lot of Dauphin Island, Alabama.

As we unpacked the car and began our walk to one of the island’s public beaches, my eye caught sight of the beautifully clear (& scorching hot) sand. Although I’ve become spoiled by crystal blue water (something Dauphin Island lacks) many beaches in Thailand are plagued by rocky, shell-covered or littered sand. This was a nice change! To peel my leather flip-flops off and put my toes in the sand without fear of cuts or scrapes made me feel at one with the beach – a feeling this beach lover has missed.

The wildlife on Thailand beaches ranges from monkeys and dirty beach dogs to horses and the occasional cat who had lost his tail in a fight, so only seeing the pelicans overhead and the dolphins jumping in the distance was bliss. I’ll take dolphin watching over monkey watching any day!

Overall I’d rather spend a day wading in the warm, blue waters where I can see the sea creatures swimming by me in Thailand than a day in murky water on Dauphin Island but Alabama has something Thailand can never touch: my family.

Hope your fourth of July was also filled with lots of family lovin’!

Coti

20120706-093540.jpg

2 responses to “Dauphin Island, Alabama

  1. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say fantastic blog!

  2. Reblogged this on Coti's Travels and commented:

    Last year when I moved back to America, I went for a mini vacay at Daulphin Island, Alabama. Quite a change after experiencing beaches in Southeast Asia!

Leave a Reply

