Travel more. Fear less.

To think I’ve only been a “traveler” for 3 years is almost unbelievable. I feel like I wasted 23 years of my life not traveling. Now I can proudly show all the stamps in my nearly full passport of places some only dream to go – India, Malaysia, Hong Kong, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia, etc. I feel so blessed and fortunate to have had these travels but now being back home in the States, it feels like something is missing from my life. I’m desperately missing travel. I miss everything about it. I miss the feeling I had when I first touched down in Bangkok as a homeless, terrified, lost, unemployed 23 year old. Everything was so new and exciting. I got lost more than daily. I tried new foods (some smelt like feet, some were meant to crawl on the ground and not be eaten). I did not let any fear stand in my way. After moving to the other side of the world alone, what is fear anymore? Traveling for me allows me to let go of every inhibition I feel and be completely scared but conquer each and every fear. It’s made me the strong person I am today and for that, I am so thankful to each country I have visited, each person I’ve met, each crazy thing I’ve done, and each dirty hotel room I’ve stayed in. If I could offer you one piece of advice in life: TRAVEL! You won’t regret it. I promise.

Here are just a small sample of the fears I’ve conquered in my travels:

Image
Fear 1. The first hotel I stayed in alone in Bangkok when I first moved there.
Image
Fear 2. Eat some bugs. Khaosan Road, Bangkok
Image
Fear 3: Cross a street in Ho Chi Minh (Saigon). Trust me, they’re the hardest streets you’ve ever crossed.
Fear 4: Visit somewhere a terrible tragedy occurred and try to wrap your brain around it. The Killing Fields in Cambodia, a truly devastating, disgusting home to genocide of beautiful Cambodian people.
Image
Fear 5: Visit a creepy, tiny little shrine filled with penises known to Thai people for fertility.

I can’t wait to conquer my next fear, maybe right here at home.

Coti

One response to “Travel more. Fear less.

  1. Thanks for sharing this information. I really like your way of expressing the opinions and sharing the information. It is good to move as chance bring new things in life, paves the way for advancement.

Leave a Reply

