Sometimes cooking and Pinterest aren’t such a happy marriage.

As you can tell, I’ve been on quite a cooking binge lately (you should have seen the funfetti cupcakes I made from scratch!) and I owe it all to Pinterest.

Recipes and cooking tips are my favorite things to pin. Mainly because I’m a terrible cook. I have no idea what substitutes for what or how to cook anything without a recipe (thanks for the cooking lessons as a kid, mom!).

I think Pinterest was made for those of us that aren’t chef material but enjoy being in the kitchen.

Over the last few weeks I found a couple of recipes I couldn’t wait to try. One was a garlic brown sugar baked chicken (how hard could that be, right?) and the other was some type of Parmesan garlic knots.

I cooked them both on the same night. That was my first mistake.

The Parmesan garlic knots were finished first as I’m terrible at timing parts of my meal to finish around the same time (seriously, if you do this well – HOW?!).

They smelt – and look DELICIOUS.

My watering mouth took a bite of them and the only thing I could taste was salt. I’m going to go ahead and blame this on the recipe because we hardly used any salt and none of the other ingredients had any.

It was one of the most wretched things I’ve ever tasted. And I cooked it. How embarrassing.

Next up: the garlic brown sugar chicken. Seriously, who could mess this up?

Well, apparently I did. As soon as we opened the oven the smoke detector was nearly set off from all the black smoke coming out of my oven and filling my small living room.

All of the topping had melted off and burnt to nice black crisp in the corner of my baking dish. Apparently you weren’t supposed to flip them.

I ended up eating jalapeno Pringles for dinner. Can’t screw those up.

I’ve now learned that Pinterest and the kitchen should be combined in small doses, with my skill ability anyways…

To see the recipes that I have cooked that turned out well, check out my “Delish” board on my Pinterest.

They were so beautiful, I had to share. These are the homemade funfetti cupcakes I was referring to. You can find the recipe on my Pinterest page.

They were so beautiful, I had to share. These are the homemade funfetti cupcakes I was referring to. You can find the recipe on my Pinterest page.

Leave a Reply

